Managing Director

George Johnson began his career as a Certified Public Accountant in 1966 with Touche Ross (now Deloitte), where he advanced to manager. In 1971, George founded his own firm by acquiring a practice formed through the merger of several local firms, the oldest of which was established in 1942.

Professional Highlights:

George is actively involved in the community and serves on the boards of several organizations, including:

  • TCF Financial Corporation – Board member; Audit Committee
  • American Alliance of Museums – Board member; Finance Committee
  • Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan – Board of Trustees member; Audit Committee
  • Detroit Institute of Arts – former Board member; Executive and Audit Committees
  • Detroit Regional Chamber – ex-officio Board member; served three-years as Treasurer
  • Detroit Symphony Orchestra – former Board member
  • Detroit Zoological Society – Board member; Finance and Audit Committees
  • Wayne State University – Chairperson, Richard H. Austin Scholarship Fund
  • Detroit Economic Club – member, Scholarship Advisory Committee
  • Black United Fund of Michigan, Inc. – member, Advisory Board
  • Forgotten Harvest – member, Advisory Board

He has been the recipient of several honors, including: the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Association of Black Accountants; the Silver Beaver Award from the Detroit Area Council, Boy Scouts of America; the 2007 Michigan Executive of the Year Award from Wayne State University; and an earlier WSU Black Alumni Achievement Award.

George is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants, the Illinois CPA Society, and the National Association of Black Accountants. He is also a member of the Detroit Athletic Club.

A resident of Detroit, George received his B.S. in Accounting and Finance from Wayne State University, where he also pursued graduate courses in Business Management. George is licensed as a CPA in the States of Michigan and Illinois.